I can’t believe it’s not butter!

8 Nov

Spoiler alert: butter chicken only has two tablespoons of butter in it.

Yeah, I know, I was shocked too. But then I was grateful, because living in the South, I’ve had my share of buttery dishes and some of them can get nasty.

had to make butter chicken the other day because my mom accidentally bought too much naan. Thus it needed to be eaten. I could have made tikka masala, but I decided to be “adventurous” and go with the butter chicken. The only real adventurous part is that I’ve never made butter chicken before; it was actually much easier than masala.

In the pot

Note: these are iPhone pictures…it was either that or run for my Canon while burning the chicken! My apologies for the incredible orange color.

Maybe it’s just the recipe I used, but butter chicken is not as spicy or flavorful as masala chicken. It’s also less thick because it has more milk than yogurt. The good thing is that anything goes well with naan!

Mmm

Some of you might have eaten Indian food recently for Diwali, the Festival of Lights. Diwali is one of the biggest festivals in India, and celebrates good over evil, the new year and the hope for a plentiful harvest. Happy (late) Diwali, everyone…may the naan be with you!

2 Responses to “I can’t believe it’s not butter!”

  1. Gwyn Bergthold November 8, 2012 at 10:33 pm #

    I need to overbuy naan more often.

  2. Cara November 10, 2012 at 1:39 am #

    That looks amazing!

Leave a Reply

