Coffee obsession: continued

26 Oct

Some people call me a coffee snob; I like to call myself a coffee connoisseur. Honestly, though, the most accurate term is probably coffee nerd. I collect all varieties of coffee grinders, brewers and makers, some of which I’ve already told you about. This month I got both an AeroPress and a (long-awaited) Turkish coffee pot. Two! In one month! Nerd heaven.

The AeroPress

I saw this maker randomly online and was soon won over by the myriad of positive reviews about it. I know, I know – you can’t trust the internet! But this nifty little maker is every bit as good as I thought it would be, if not better.  To use the AeroPress, you pour very finely ground coffee into the bottom half of the container. Then you just mix with hot water, place it on top of a cup and slowly press down the plunger. When you push the plunger down, the coffee is “pressed” by the “air” (haha) through the filter and into the cup.

My AeroPress makes one of the smoothest and least acidic cups of coffee I’ve ever tasted! I would highly recommend it to anyone.

The Turkish pot, I’ve used before. Toward the end of my 5-month stint in Eastern Europe, I was drinking two or three cups of Turkish coffee a day. Alas, though, I forgot to buy a pot to take home with me. So, long story short, I received one this month straight from Serbia (via equally long-awaited friend) and it is now my very own! Here it is, in all its cuteness:

I asked for the most colorful pot available 🙂

Turkish coffee is made on the stove, and although there are many variations of the process, I heat up the water until it’s almost boiling, then stir in the ground coffee and reheat it just a little bit more.

The ground for Turkish coffee is also fine, almost like powder. My friend brought me a legit Serbian grinder, which makes the perfect grind for a good ol’ cup of velvety caffeine.

Ooh, heavenly, right?

I have been a very happy girl these past couple of weeks; even though life has been extremely busy, I’ve gotten to use both of my new toys multiple times! If you can tell, I’ve also gotten to play with the new camera I got for my birthday…I’m definitely still a novice, but I fully expect that one day you’ll see pictures of all my coffee equipment in Time Magazine. At which point, I will have enough money to travel the world searching out even more ways to brew! Ah, life is good.

4 Responses to “Coffee obsession: continued”

  1. idavestheim October 26, 2012 at 2:00 pm #

    I couldnt agree more 🙂 have you tried the chemex method yet? If not, I can recommend it!

    • TravelingByTaste October 27, 2012 at 1:36 pm #

      I haven’t! My friend just got a pour over from Starbucks, though…is it much different?

      • idavestheim October 28, 2012 at 8:46 am #

        I guess its not that different, its mostly up to the quality in the coffee. I didnt know they had pour over at Starbucks, cool 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Gifts from the الشرق الأوسط « Traveling by Taste - January 29, 2013

    […] The coffee is from Oman (east of Yemen, where coffee was first cultivated) and apparently what a tourist gets when they ask for “the most traditional coffee” available. I have yet to try it, but it’s a very fine ground meant to be brewed in the Turkish style. […]

Leave a Reply

