School, rhymes, & a little bit of food

24 Aug

I have sad news. My stellar schedule of two or three blogs a week stops…now.

Today marks the end of the first week of my sophomore year, and boy, is it going to be a doozy. I don’t how often I’ll get to update this blog between research papers and Spanish lab and cutting open organisms, so I will now take this time to thank you for reading, subscribing to, or merely coming across my blog for the first time because you googled “cutting open organisms” (weirdo).

Since you’ll probably see less of me, I’m going to let you in on one of my deepest, darkest secrets. Okay, it’s more of a memory. And it’s not really deep and only slightly dark. But it is about me.

When I was little, my siblings and I routinely made plates. As in, we colored a circle piece of paper and sent it into this company that turned it into a plastic plate. We have a billion of these plates now and still eat from them. One of my favorites is a plate I made when I was 11. At the time, I liked to rhyme and was intrigued by the morbidness of children’s stories such as Aesop’s Fables. On the plate, there’s minimal drawing – a ham, a bone and some silverware. In the middle, there is this poem:

Old Mr. Sam was eating a ham

not using a fork or a knife

Not seeing a bone

he swallowed it whole

and indigestion took his life.

(Let this be a warning to you who are eating. Use good manners!)

So yes, not only do I dubiously rhyme “bone” and “whole,” I scare whoever’s eating half to death and then berate them on their table etiquette. Thanks, 11-year-old demented Mother Goose.

Anyone who receives this plate to eat from sort of chuckles, smiles at me and then looks down at it again, semi-worried. Whether their mind is on my psychological issues or their chances of choking, I do not know. What I do know is that, although I don’t care if you use silverware, I do prefer that you actually savor the food you eat instead of wolfing it down like a savage. But, if you want to die of indigestion, be my guest.

Excuse me, I have homework to do.

Leave a Reply

