The gyro debate: what say you?

13 Aug

I have a question for y’all: how do you say the word gyro?

Before I went to Hungary, I wobbled between “jai-row” and “gee-row.” I got nervous about which version to use, so I would pretend to choke a little bit when ordering one. The poor guy behind the counter would ask, confused, “So, one gyro with fries?” at which time I would nod winsomely and graciously overlook his hearing defect. After I went to Hungary and ordered them on the street a million times, I started calling them “gee-roesh” and never stopped. I don’t know why this gives me confidence while ordering now, because I’ve never heard anyone say it this way in the South. Yet, it does.

I’ve asked people who’ve been to or are from Greece, North Africa and the Middle East about gyros. They all say the word differently, each assured that his or her’s pronunciation is the correct version.

So I’m curious if any of you out there eat these mysterious wraps, and how you call them. Especially if you live in Iceland. Surely you guys have some long, awe-inducing way of pronouncing the word. Yes, I’ll take a grjálaðurlenyrð, please. And make it snappy!

Me being happy with my gyro because my friend Marko ordered it FOR me. I know. It’s a problem.

5 Responses to “The gyro debate: what say you?”

  1. nb August 13, 2012 at 12:49 pm #

    Is it guy-ro? Or gee-ro? How about the meat in the pita with that crazy good sauce? What about the Vietnamese soup, pho. Pronounced foe? or fa?

    • TravelingByTaste August 13, 2012 at 9:38 pm #

      I have no idea what that soup is. I’ll have to check it out 🙂

      • Cara August 14, 2012 at 3:35 pm #

        My friend Meredith loves pho and pronouces it either foe or fuh…now I can’t remember! 😛

  2. 40 is the new 13 August 26, 2012 at 2:46 pm #

    Ah… I love these. So delicious. I thought it was pronouned yee-row? Am I adding to the confusion? What a fun post. And thanks for the follow!

  3. corine October 20, 2013 at 8:21 pm #

    I go also back and forth between GEE- ROW and Yee-ro

Leave a Reply

