Getting Greek with baklava

30 Jul

The Parthenon. Turquoise coasts. Ancient ruins. Warm people. Flavorful food. Shout opaguys, because today we’re going to Greece!

Most of my Grecian culture awareness comes from My Big Fat Greek Wedding and that one Full House episode where DJ accidentally accepts a marriage proposal from her Greek cousin. According to television, Greece is fun and exciting, full of flavorful food and kind, albeit loud, people.


According to other sources, this view holds true to the real Greece, too. The closest I’ve been is Macedonia, which was similar to this description, although the countries kind of hate each other and that opinion might get me killed by a Greek/Macedonian sniper. If this happens, please bury me in coffee beans.

Until I actually visit, Greece will remain in my mind as happy and colorful and boisterous and…old. Since I live in a relatively new country, I’m easily amazed at the age and history of other countries. Before Greece adopted the Euro in 2002, its currency, the drachma, was 2,650 years old – Europe’s oldest currency! People were using drachmas thousands of years ago! The US dollar is about 300 years old, but it seems like a wee babe in comparison.

Greece is still on my to-go list, but that doesn’t mean I haven’t had the opportunity to try its distinctive food. Greek restaurants seem to always offer baklava, and I kind of have to eat it. It’s so cheap! And every baklava is unique, which makes each bite an adventure. I’ll admit, it’s not always great. Baklava, especially when it’s been sitting around, has a tendency to get mushy. Thus, naturally I had to make my own in order to try it totally fresh!

Today is the second time I’ve made baklava, and I’m pleased with both turnouts. It tastes and looks totally legit (okay, my uninformed idea of legit). It’s also pretty easy, although some layering is required (at first I felt like I was making burek again!).

Sometimes, you just got to have baklava. Or, I do. I even broke my “only make fruity desserts in summer” rule for it. So next time your Greek tooth acts up and the cafe is out of baklava, consider making it yourself! I promise it will be an adventure. If you make it one. And you’re awesome like me.

Until next time, opa, ya’ll!

4 Responses to “Getting Greek with baklava”

  1. Gwyn Bergthold July 31, 2012 at 9:00 am #

    Pretty much the best Baklava I’ve ever tasted – maybe because it was so fresh?

  2. Frances antoinette August 6, 2012 at 7:30 pm #

    Whenever I’m in Greece…I indulge in baklava!

  3. violetsandcardamom August 11, 2012 at 5:10 pm #

    Love baklava! Your’s looks great!!

Leave a Reply

