Visiting Italy through gelato

14 May

Photo courtesy of my beautiful friend Krystle

It doesn’t get better than gelato. In my opinion, it beats out ice cream, smoothies and sorbet. The only sweet frosty treat that compares is tart frozen yogurt. So ever since we bought a quick and easy frozen dessert maker, I have wanted to try homemade gelato.

In Europe, it was almost impossible for me to resist buying from any gelato stand I passed. After all, a scoop was only around 50 cents, and there were so many flavors to try! Lemon (or limon, as I would order in Montenegro) is my longtime favorite dessert flavor, so I decided it would also be my first attempt at gelato.

Do the raspberries make it less sad?

Sadly, that beautiful top picture is not of my own gelato. Mine was more what you would call cold lemon soup. Better luck next time? If so, I will post a picture on here in order to maintain some of my culinary dignity.

Gelato originated in Florence, Italy. Where else would such a timeless, tasty treat come from? Italian cooking has highly impacted the world, and it’s the food alone that attracts many people to Italy.

It was difficult for me to research Italy, in part because it’s so popularized. Venice, Tuscany, Rome…all these places are famous and romanticized. Depending on which part of the country you visit, Italy holds wine-soaked countrysides, enchanting cities, pasta-laden eateries and idyllic ocean views.

It’s the culture, though, that beckons to me even more than the food and  breathtakingly gorgeous sights.

Italian culture is summed up in a common Italian proverb: “A day without laughter is a wasted day.” Italian greetings are hugs and kisses and shouts. If an Italian is feeling emotional, you will hear about it, and possibly be forced to empathize with them in the same vocal manner in which they inform you.

Italians care about appearance, yet are laid back and accepting. What some might call schmooze, they call charisma. The little peninsula we call Italy is world-renowned for simple and happy living. Remember, I’ve never been to Italy, so this is mostly my idealism and internet research talking. Have you been to Italy? If so, how does your experience relate to my idea of it?

In any case, Italy is a ton of fun. Eat yourself silly, meet a few genuine Italians and have a blast in a country where the word “bored” might as well not exist!

One Response to “Visiting Italy through gelato”

  1. Cara May 19, 2012 at 12:57 am #

    I would like to go to Italy with you!

Leave a Reply

