Yogurt is taking over the world

12 Apr

A few weeks ago, I told you about the world’s (and my!) coffee obsession. Today we’ll learn about another food item that spread all around the world. Yogurt! Although yogurt doesn’t exactly cause as much excitement as coffee, I, for one, love it.

My yogurt adoration picked up steam when I got a job at Pinkberry. Every time I worked a shift, I was allowed one free cup of frozen yogurt. It was my first experience with tart yogurt, although I was a moderate fan of Yoplait at the time, which is more sweet and fruity.

Another factor in my yogurt love was my five-month stint in Eastern Europe. A normal breakfast drink there is creamy tart yogurt. When I returned home, I missed it so much that I made my own jogurt. Essentially, that entails boiling pasteurized milk, mixing it with live active culture yogurt and letting it sit out for 12 hours. My mom thought I was going to die.

One of my favorite breakfasts - yogurt parfait!

After researching several countries through this blog, I found out a lot of other people are crazy about yogurt too! In fact, it’s next to impossible to go anywhere in the world where they do not consume yogurt.

Here are some interesting varieties of this delicious, nutritious food item:

Iceland

Called skyr, Icelandic yogurt is strained of all its water content to create a thicker consistency (it’s similar to Greek yogurt, which has become popular in the U.S.).

West Sumatra

Dadih yogurt is made from water buffalo milk and fermented in bamboo tubes.

Tibet

Tibetan yogurt is made from yak milk!

The Balkans

Jogurt is often made into cold soup with cucumber, olive oil, salt or dill. It’s usually a side dish.

Jordan

Jordanians salt their yogurt, dry it into chunks and call it jameed.

India

Raita is yogurt seasoned with cilantro, mint or other herbs and mixed with vegetables such as cucumber and onions. The mixture is served chilled and works as an antidote for spicy Indian dishes.

Japan

This doesn’t really count, but I had to include it. Pepsi came out with a new flavor of cola that they sold only in Japan. It was called Pepsi White, “pepsi and yogurt flavor.” This didn’t catch on. I wonder why…

Do any of these international yogurts catch your eye (or stomach)?

7 Responses to “Yogurt is taking over the world”

  1. babegle April 12, 2012 at 1:24 pm #

    The Japan one…YUCK! (nice humor) The Jordan one sounds interesting, the idea of solid yogurt..more of on-the-go products. I bet USA picks that up soon since everything has to move so fast! Very cool post! I am all about some Sweet CeCe’s!

  2. woodroofwc April 12, 2012 at 1:29 pm #

    I had no idea there were so many different kinds of yogurt. Very interesitng post!

  3. findthefootsteps April 12, 2012 at 1:31 pm #

    I LOVE yogurt! Frozen yogurt from Sweet Cece’s & Pinkberry is of course a favorite, but I also am a big fan of Greek Yogurt! And so healthy!

  4. calebalexander901 April 12, 2012 at 1:36 pm #

    oooooh, ahhhhh those look awesome! I need to check out Pinkberry

  5. Zeezy April 12, 2012 at 1:38 pm #

    TBH i hate yogurt! I use to love the GO-yogurt growing up as a kid but i grew out of it for some reason. However, i do like to try new foods all the time so i can tolerate yogurt. To me its only good when it is in a parfait. YUM!!!!!

  6. Cara April 12, 2012 at 10:07 pm #

    Okay, you expanded by horizons because I had to look up where West Sumatra was. That yogurt made from water buffalo milk and fermented in bamboo tubes sounds gross, but TCBY frozen yogurt sounds delightful… 😛

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. An Indian treat of mango lassi « Traveling by Taste - July 23, 2012

    […] eaten at an Indian buffet, I decided to take advantage of fruit season (and my favorite ingredient: yogurt!) and try out mango […]

Leave a Reply

