Coffee: an international obsession

1 Mar

Strong. Complex. Fruity. Mellow. Earthy.

What do these words have in common? They all describe coffee! Today, instead of featuring one country, I’m featuring one dish…well, one drink, to be exact. Coffee is the most popular beverage in the world, after all, with more than 400 billion cups consumed each year, so I think it qualifies for a post of its own.

People drink coffee from South America to Russia, from Madagascar to Australia. What makes this drink so universally popular? For one, it’s cheap. It also makes mornings less of a drag, and its high amount of caffeine is proven to be addictive.

Yet it’s more than the caffeine that keeps people sipping. A good cup of coffee can brighten your mood, make your day better and put you in a new state of mind. Drinking coffee with friends is a great way to deepen relationships. There is a sort of laid-back coffee culture that says, “You are important, and other things can wait.”

As you can tell, I am a coffee fan, and I love making it in different ways. Here are a few ways I brew:

"All-American" drip coffee maker

This is an easy way to make enough fresh coffee to share with friends. Mine has a built-in bean grinder, which is also time-efficient. It even has a timer function that allows me to prepare the coffee the night before, then have it fresh and waiting for me on early mornings. I don’t know about you, but it’s much easier getting out of bed if I can already smell my cup o’ joe waiting for me!

French press

French presses have become another popular option of making coffee in the U.S. All you have to do is pour your pre-ground coffee into the cup and put on the lid. After a few minutes (I like to wait four), you press the plunger down, which captures the grounds in the bottom of the cup so you can drink your coffee ground-free!

Italian espresso maker

This little guy makes less coffee than the French press, but it’s also a lot stronger. First you fill the bottom section of the pot with water, and then insert a little bowl of finely ground coffee over it. You then heat it on the stove, causing the water to rise into the top section and end up as delightfully smooth espresso.

Turkish coffee pot

Sadly, I don’t own my own Turkish coffee pot, but I hope to one day. This picture is of my friend’s pot I borrowed in Hungary. Turkish coffee is more “hardcore” than others. All you have to do is mix ground coffee and water together in your pot, then heat it up on the stove. At a certain magical point (after you have some foam, but before it’s boiled!), you take it off the stove and enjoy! The result is wonderfully rich and strong coffee, but some people object to the grounds that remain at the bottom of the cup. I, however, most emphatically do not object, and miss Turkish coffee with a passion.

I recently viewed a poll asking if Americans would eliminate their favorite food or drink from their diet if they discovered it might reduce their lifespan by a year. 57% said they would not. I am the 57%! (See what I did there?). I would not give up coffee even if it made me die at age 86 instead of 87. Would you give up your favorite food or beverage for a (slightly) longer life?

8 Responses to “Coffee: an international obsession”

  1. findthefootsteps March 1, 2012 at 1:33 pm #

    I am also an avid coffee drinker, and would not give it up even if it cut time off of my life. Coffee absolutely gives you the boost of energy and warm unique yummy taste you need to start off the day right. I’m only familiar with the “All American Drip” coffee maker, but am anxious to try the others now!

  2. woodroofwc March 1, 2012 at 1:41 pm #

    Great post! I’ve never been too much of a coffee drinker, but I hope someday to catch on. Keep up the good work!!!

  3. calebalexander901 March 1, 2012 at 1:42 pm #

    I love me some coffee. The stat about 400 billion cups being drank in year though, still blows my mind! Coffee is definitely a great excuse to get together with friends and provides a nice boost to stir up conversation.

    Personally, I have a Keurig (or however it is spelled) and I haven’t gotten the oppurtunity to branch out with the other techniques just yet. After reading this I will be sure to try them! Great blog!

  4. Cara March 3, 2012 at 4:30 pm #

    Nope, I don’t think I’d cut out my absolutely favorite food for the potential of being 97 instead of 98 and water is my favorite drink, so I wouldn’t cut that one out, either. I’m not a coffee drinker, but I sure have seen its popularity and how it brings community all over the world!

  5. babegle March 6, 2012 at 1:31 pm #

    Love the whitty comments..and if that is not how you spell “whitty” I feel dumb. Anyway, I don’t think I ever would have imagined how many types of coffee/grinders and such there are out there! Cool post.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Visiting Turkey through kebab « Traveling by Taste - March 29, 2012

    […] on Turkish food, though, and will try it again soon! As for now, at least I know I can make legit Turkish coffee. The Turks became dearer to my heart when I found out they introduced coffee to Europe. Also, they […]

  2. Yogurt is taking over the world « Traveling by Taste - April 12, 2012

    […] few weeks ago, I told you about the world’s (and my!) coffee obsession. Today we’ll learn about another food item that spread all around the world. Yogurt! Although […]

  3. I can’t shut up about coffee « Traveling by Taste - April 28, 2012

    […] I was living in Eastern Europe, I was accused of only taking pictures of coffee and food. This is obviously not true. I have at least one picture of my friend, I think, and a […]

Leave a Reply

