Visiting Morocco through tagine

23 Feb

No forks today! In Morocco, you use your bread to scoop the tagine into your mouth.

At first glance, Morocco has it all: bustling cities, exotic beaches, lush mountains and scenic deserts. It encompasses the exoticness of Africa while being just a short ferry ride away from Spain.

For the art and culture lovers, there are museums and festivals, as well as unique architecture. The architecture is predominately Islamic, but heavy Spanish influences make for a unique blend.

For those in need of relaxation, there are spas that include unusual treatments like sand baths. Or if you’re not willing to be buried to the neck in sand, you could visit a hammam (public bathhouse).

For you adventurers, you can try hiking mountains, surfing the ocean waves, or exploring the scenic deserts. Who wouldn’t jump at the chance to ride a camel in the Sahara desert?

For the foodies (like me!), there are all sorts of delicacies to enjoy. Moroccan cuisine was built around its natural resources and so relies heavily on olive oil and spices.  The dish I made this week, tagine, was actually named for the heavy clay pot in which it is traditionally made. Tagines are often painted with beautiful designs that making serving it as visually pleasing as it is pleasing to eat.

When I started making my tagine, I knew it was going to be good simply because of the amount of spices for which it called. For me, the spicier, the better! This recipe requires a staggering 12 spices! A couple of them are relatively unknown, like saffron, coriander and tumeric. This got me excited, and I might have dumped too much in, but it turned out pretty good nonetheless!

All the spices waiting to be rolled in pieces of chicken

This whole meal was more involved than any other I’ve made in a while. The hobz bread required kneading, rising and baking. The recipe even requested for “resting time.” Oh, sorry to wake you, bread, but dinner’s got to come sometime! The meat required marinating and then slowly cooking for hours. It was great fun to make, though. It’s not that often, after all, that you get to eat your main dish with your side dish – no forks allowed!

Which kind of tourist are you? Art lover, relaxer, adventurer, foodie or a combination of the above?

(Recipes used: Tagine & Bread)

8 Responses to “Visiting Morocco through tagine”

  1. Lillian Fisher February 23, 2012 at 11:42 am #

    That bread (and the tagine) looks AMAZING!!

  2. Cara February 23, 2012 at 12:06 pm #

    I am a relaxer, adventurer, foodie, and talking with the nationals combo and this post makes me want to go back. SO. BAD. 🙂

  3. allthingsgoodandwise February 23, 2012 at 5:30 pm #

    oh heavenly food! I would love to reach in and take some of what you are showing. Please post the recipe for the bread as well. Just found your blog.

    I don’t travel as much as I would like but when I do I am a locals cuisine seeker girl. I look for the dive where the natives eat and dine there. On my last trip to Mexico, I found myself eating at a small open air diner with three things on the menu. Grilled Chicken with lots of spices, “mac & cheese” and cucumber salad. Another place had mexican pizza, with a pinto bean base instead of tomato sauce. All very yummy. Keep blogging.

    • cabergthold February 24, 2012 at 11:30 am #

      I would love to visit Mexico sometime (&not just through blogging!) and try authentic Mexican food 🙂 Glad you enjoy the blog.

      I added the recipe links at the end of this post for you. I used chicken for my tagine, though, and added dried apricots sliced in half – one of my favorite parts!

  4. mjkanyuh February 28, 2012 at 1:24 pm #

    Morocco seems like it would be a great place to visit! I wish that I could travel more than I do! Although I am not a spicy foods eater, this still looks pretty good.

  5. Matt Brown February 28, 2012 at 1:31 pm #

    I like a little bit of everything when I’m a tourist. It’s neat to see another food blog and how different they can be, but still sound like they would taste great.

  6. zdbryant February 28, 2012 at 1:34 pm #

    Tagine looks like a great meal. It’s cool how you can learn much about a culture just by cooking and eating their recipes.

  7. tylerbivens February 28, 2012 at 1:42 pm #

    I love traveling, although I don’t get to do it very often. I am an adventurer when I travel. I love just going out and doing awesome things. I also love to eat though, so your approach to making dishes from different cultures is quite interesting. I think it’s a really cool idea and sounds like a lot of fun and a great way to learn about other places in the world. You also make Morocco sound like an awesome place!

Leave a Reply

