Visiting India through chicken tikka masala

31 Jan


I’ve long been obsessed with India – the bright colors, the happy inhabitants and, of course, the flavorful dishes! Although I’ve never actually visited the country, I make Indian food often, so my first dish to share with you is chicken tikka masala. You might have heard of it, as it’s a popular dish in Indian restaurants here in America (although interestingly enough, Britain has laid claim to its origins).

Tikka masala is similar to many Indian dishes, with chicken marinated in yogurt with several different spices, cooked in a tomato sauce and served over rice. It goes excellently with naan, a common Indian flatbread. I have to admit I cheated and bought my naan at Kroger – naan isn’t really naan to me unless it’s made in a special kind of oven called a tandoor, so after failed attempts of baking it at home, I am at peace with buying it pre-made!

If you’d like to try making tikka masala, I’d recommend this recipe. Warning: there’s a liberal amount of both spices and jalapenos!

India is a land of tigers, monsoons and traditions. They let cows wander wherever they will.  They have a whole festival dedicated to throwing colored powder and paint at each other. Would you like to visit this exotic, yet chaotic, country?

7 Responses to “Visiting India through chicken tikka masala”

  1. Cara February 1, 2012 at 5:15 pm #

    Heck yes I would! 😀

  2. babegle February 2, 2012 at 1:35 pm #

    First of all: YUM, that looks so good! I pretty much try any food someone will put in front of my face. I am not scared of spice. My dad does the cooking in my house and people who have eaten over tell him his spagetti in spicy!
    Second: I am pretty sure I never want to leave the country (not because I am scared, but I am so content with America..I hope this doesn’t come off as arrogant) so special thanks to people like you who bring the food to me!

  3. findthefootsteps February 2, 2012 at 1:41 pm #

    First off, YUM. Your dish looks and souds delicious. You just can’t go wrong with spices and chicken.
    As for wanting to travel to India, absolutely. Any place that has a festival dedicated to throwing paint is a place I want to be at.
    Also, love the title of this blog. Clever and cute!

  4. calebalexander901 February 2, 2012 at 1:49 pm #

    Your making me hungry. All you have to say is chicken and tomato sauce and i’m there! Keep writing about food and i’ll keep reading! Nicely done.

  5. woodroofwc February 2, 2012 at 1:50 pm #

    I’m not the traveler I probably should be, but you make the country sound like a trip worth taking! I’ve also never had Indian food, so it might be a new option I try in the future. Great post! Keep up the good work.

  6. allthingsgoodandwise February 24, 2012 at 10:04 am #

    Indian Foods call out my name quite often. I would like to visit the country and smell the spices in the air.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. An Indian treat of mango lassi « Traveling by Taste - July 23, 2012

    […] is the case with mango lassi. My very first blog post was on India, because everything Indian makes me happy. It also brings to surface my insatiable […]

Leave a Reply

